Municipal Notices & Opportunities04/09/2026Redação São Paulo4 min readUpdated on 24/09/2026

Free Printing and Upcycling Workshop at Cate Central: who can apply by September 13

The workshop offers 25 places, 40 hours of training and 13 in-person sessions. Check eligibility, priority groups, schedule, location, selection and what to review before applying.

Mesa de oficina têxtil com bolsa de jeans reaproveitado, camiseta estampada com folhas, rolo de tinta, tintas e máquina de costura ao fundo.

Registration for the Mãos e Mentes Paulistanas Printing and Upcycling Workshop is open until September 13, 2026. The training is free, in person, and will take place at Cate Central in São Paulo's Historic Center. To be eligible, applicants must be craft workers or makers registered with the Mãos e Mentes Paulistanas program and must be available to attend the entire schedule.

There are 25 main places and up to 10 waitlist places. The City of São Paulo states that priority will be given to cisgender women and members of the LGBTQIAPN+ community, while remaining places will go to other applicants who meet the prerequisites. Selection will be made by lottery among eligible applicants.

Who can apply for the workshop

According to the official notice from the Municipal Secretariat for Economic Development and Labor, applications are aimed at craft workers and makers who meet two essential conditions:

  • be registered with the Mãos e Mentes Paulistanas program;
  • be available to attend all scheduled classes.

The priority given to cisgender women and the LGBTQIAPN+ community does not make the workshop exclusive to those groups. The City explicitly states that remaining places will be assigned to other eligible applicants.

For people who are not yet part of the program, the municipal notice also provides a separate registration form for Mãos e Mentes Paulistanas. Because program registration is listed as a workshop requirement, applicants should check their status before submitting the workshop form.

Deadline, places and selection method

  • Application deadline: September 13, 2026.
  • Places: 25 participants and up to 10 waitlisted applicants.
  • Selection: lottery among applicants who meet all prerequisites.
  • Priority: cisgender women and the LGBTQIAPN+ community; remaining places go to other eligible applicants.
  • Cost: free, with practical activity materials included.

The official notice gives September 13 as the final date but does not specify a cutoff time in the article. It is therefore not safe to assume that the form will remain open until 11:59 p.m.

How the Printing and Upcycling Workshop works

The course totals 40 hours across 13 in-person sessions. The announced content includes stencil techniques, template creation, textile painting, garment customization and reuse of materials that are no longer in use. The workshop combines craft production with upcycling practices, transforming existing materials or garments into products with a new purpose and added value.

According to the City, all materials needed for the practical activities will be provided free of charge by Ateliê 11.

Location, dates and times

ItemDetails
LocationCate Central
AddressRua Álvares Penteado, 203, 2nd floor, Historic Center, São Paulo/SP
Course periodSeptember 29 to November 10, 2026
Regular daysTuesdays and Fridays
Regular time9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
Special timeSeptember 29 and October 2, 9:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Total workload40 hours
Format13 in-person sessions

The address is also listed on the official Cate locations page.

Full schedule of the 13 sessions

  • September: 29.
  • October: 2, 6, 9, 13, 16, 20, 23, 27 and 30.
  • November: 3, 6 and 10.

The September 29 and October 2 sessions last 3.5 hours; the remaining sessions run from 9:00 a.m. to noon. Together, these periods add up to the announced 40 hours.

What to check before opening the application form

  1. Confirm your program registration: the workshop requires applicants to be registered craft workers or makers in Mãos e Mentes Paulistanas.
  2. Check your calendar: availability for the full schedule is a requirement, so compare all 13 dates with your commitments in advance.
  3. Note the special times: the first two sessions end at 12:30 p.m., 30 minutes later than the regular schedule.
  4. Read the form carefully: the official article does not list specific documents that must be prepared before applying. Do not assume requirements that are not stated in the form.
  5. Do not rely on a last-minute submission: the City states September 13 as the deadline but does not publish a closing time in the article.

Where to apply

Applications are submitted exclusively through the form linked by the City of São Paulo. Before sending your information, you can also review the rules, dates and service details on the official workshop page.

In short, the opportunity is free but is not an unrestricted open enrollment. The key requirements are being registered with Mãos e Mentes Paulistanas and being able to attend every session from September 29 through November 10.

Topics in this articleartesanatoCate Centralcursos gratuitos em São PauloestampariaMãos e Mentes Paulistanasoficina gratuitaupcycling